Teen’s TV catches big boys’ eye

16 Jan
Friday, January 16, 2009
By Matt Rilkoff | Taranaki Daily News
Link to source »

Writer, actor and producer Kyle Wadsworth, 16, has nearly finished filming his second TV-style series, Traceys Back. The production is being closely followed by television industry insiders who are keen to harness the teenagers talent.

Next stop Hollywood: Writer, actor and producer Kyle Wadsworth, 16, has nearly finished filming his second TV-style series, Tracey's Back. The production is being closely followed by television industry insiders who are keen to harness the teenager's talent.

Natural glow propelled Suzanne Paul to greatness and fish and chips may do the same for budding director Kyle Wadsworth.

The 16-year-old New Plymouth Boys’ High School student burst on to the New Zealand TV industry radar last year with his well-received Oriental St Murder series, a parody of the Shortland St serial killer story line.

Such was the quality of the production Kyle has become a bit of a star with TV insiders and help has been forthcoming from all manner of people to get the sequel Tracey’s Back done and dusted.

With the seven-month shoot just hours away from finishing, Kyle will today be in Auckland completing emergency cameo scenes with the matron of make-up Suzanne Paul and New Zealand Idol judge Paul Ellis.

And fish and chips have made it all possible.

“I’ve been able to do this because I’ve put all the money I’ve earned from working at California Takeaways into this production,” said Kyle.

With an hourly wage of $12 and a weekly roster of up to 10 hours, the budget for the production is not just small but ridiculously small.

Luckily none of the 40 “stars” of the sequel are being paid and more than a little bit of help has come his way from a long list of enthusiastic supporters.

Despite the confidence this brings he admits to being a little nervous about his rendezvous with Mrs Natural Glow.

“I’m not sure what I’ll say to Suzanne Paul when I see her but I’m sure I’ll figure something out. My Dad says she is pretty funny, I’ve known Paul (Ellis) for ages though and we get along really well so I am looking forward to seeing him,” he said yesterday.

Mr Ellis is also keen for a catch up. The well-known music producer came to know Kyle through his blog comments about New Zealand Idol and believes his future in the industry is rosy.

“A lot of other kids his age have a fascination for the the industry like he does but it’s often more about fame.

“He gets it that this is a business and you have too look at it like that. Others don’t understand that but he does and that gives him the jump on everyone else.”

Tracey’s Back will premiere on January 31.

13 Responses to “Teen’s TV catches big boys’ eye”

  1. esc 16 January, 2009 at 12:38 PM #

    In today’s Daily News is a great article about Streettalk member Kyle, aka Tui Kiwi, and his sequel to the Oriental Street Murder Series, ‘Tracey’s Back’. Well done Kyle!

    -Source

  2. Katy 16 January, 2009 at 12:39 PM #

    Good one Kyle…..hopefully we can met up while your in auckland this weekend.

  3. Nicola Pugh 16 January, 2009 at 12:47 PM #

    Great story!
    Good luck today!

  4. Maggie 17 January, 2009 at 1:26 AM #

    hey congrats on the article…I have forwarded the link by email to my friends so they can check it out…so if you get any friend requests (on facebook) from people you don’t know, check and see if they are friends with me!!! And the visit went well…..and your score for school was great……I bet you are sooooo stoked….and Dad will be so proud!!!!

  5. jb 17 January, 2009 at 3:52 PM #

    Hi Kyle, your Dad told me that your latest venture was almost ready at Christmas. You are certainly a talented young man, with a chosen career ahead of you.

  6. Shortland Slueth 17 January, 2009 at 8:29 PM #

    I’m looking forward to seeing it! 😀 Onya!

  7. Tracey4Kip 17 January, 2009 at 11:20 PM #

    Congrats Tui Kiwi! Good Luck, I’m looking foward to seeing it…!

  8. katipo 17 January, 2009 at 11:34 PM #

    Well done!!

    I can’t wait to see Tui Spielkiwi’s latest production!!

  9. shortlandstreet 18 January, 2009 at 11:43 PM #

    Oh. my. Gosh. I love Suzanne Paul. Can you please tell her that Mark loves her?

    1 day ago

  10. kam 18 January, 2009 at 11:45 PM #

    I love that pic of you Kyle , I don’t know why you dislike it so much !

    Congrats on your achievements so far, wer’e very proud of you 🙂

    1hr ago

  11. katipo 18 January, 2009 at 11:46 PM #

    If you do a movie that needs a cranky but loveable middle aged spider let me know where to audition!

  12. Mary Regan 18 January, 2009 at 11:49 PM #

    Fantastic Kyle! And all true. You are one talented young chap. I am amazed at what you are doing!
    Agree re photo – all the better with my niece/daughter to enhance the background. And your Dad too, of course!
    Love getting all the updates
    Mx

    20.10

  13. Ben 21 January, 2009 at 9:47 PM #

    My dad was on the phone to one of his sisters from new plymouth the other day and she mentioned that article of you in the paper, my dad told her i was in that movie and she was all ‘OMG’ so she told like everyone in my family and i got messages and calls from them all congratulating me, twas insane lols, Its like im not even a major part of the film and you’ve already made me famous amongst my family, Its actually quite cool. Thanks for it all man ;D

Leave a Reply

